Hotpoint Mistral Fridge Freezer Temperature Problems.

If your Hotpoint Fridge Freezer is reading a high temperature for the Fridge check this before you spend out any money.

After having my kitchen refitted over the last few weeks my machine was reading 24 deg C for the fridge compartment. I had moved the machine a few times and figured that something had got damaged / dislodged. What was confusing me was, how is the temperature getting that high? Even if I turned it off it wouldn’t get anywhere near that warm.

Now I don’t know much about refrigeration units, however, I guess like most electrical devices they produce heat as a by product, but enough to heat the fridge to 24 deg while the freezer was still at -20 (the freezer temp was fluctuating but only by 1 – 2 deg)?.

But one thing that can produce heat in your fridge, is the lamp…

It turns out that moving the machine about can cause the door to drop. This can mean that the door is not high enough to trigger the switch that turns off the lamp. I was unable to get the door level again, so, as the door was still sealing, I fixed with a small piece of double-sided numberplate tape and a small square of flat plastic stuck to the top of the door where the switch contacts.

Temp all back to normal within about an hour.

You can quickly test if this is your problem by removing the lamp from the inside of the fridge compartment for a short time and see if the temp drops.

I have previously replaced the thermistors in my machine when I had issues with the Freezer temperature, there are lots of examples on the internet if you need to do that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

