Amazon Kindle & Zoom X6 Router

Got my new Kindle yesterday, what an exceptional piece of kit!  But that’ll be another post…

From the off I was having issues connecting to my Zoom X6 router via the Wi-Fi.  It would only connect for a very limited amount of time (less than a minute is some cases) before the connection dropped.  The only way I found to get it to reconnect was to reboot the router, very unsatisfactory.

To cut a long story short, it appears that there is a compatibility issue with the Kindle and the X6.  I’m fortunate enough to have other routers, and since I set up a wireless access point using a Netgear DG834PN, which then connects to the internet via the X6, I have had no issues at all with the Kindle connecting via the DG834PN.

I have a support ticket raised with Zoom and will update if / when I receive a response.

UPDATE: Response from Zoom Support 27/01/2011

We tested the Kindle and the only way we got it to work was by power down the router for 1 minute and rebooting. Try that and let me know if it works.

Bit disappointing as that’s what I told them.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

